Sentiments on industrialization (Nostalgic Childhood)


Three weeks ago, I visited one of the dearest places of my childhood. I never imagined that the beach camp where I used to go to relax and learn things will soon be gone. As I grow old I noticed changes from time to time. At first, I saw this barge emerging from nowhere then came ports from both sides. When I was a child I did not pay much attention to it. But I never knew that it will be converted to something so foreign– industrial zone.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


It is not just about my sentiments about my childhood favorite haven but rather the effects of industrialization as a whole. To put it straightly, I’m not an anti-industrialization nor a pro. But these kinds of circumstances made me realize that with development comes decay.

“In its broadest ecological context, economic development is the development of more intensive ways of exploiting the natural environment.” Richard Wilkinson

Many people in the vicinity of the beach camp are complaining about the foul smell or effects on marine life because of the emergence of alcohol factory, cement company and barges in the whole area. Though it is undeniably true that these companies have generated work for many people, it is obviously alarming too that in the mere future the effects of these industries will manifest roughly.

I like it when Sevara put it this way:

“It’s time that we get fed up and propel this revolution of global awareness into full force. Let’s keep this trend going by putting more pressure on our leaders, and also by observing how each of us can embrace our organic essence by making choices that are sound for the ecosystem of which we are a part.”

I dont totally agree with everything in Sevara’s website but with the abovementioned statement I 100% agree!

Life has been a fight for resources that are depleting and keep depleting; with the poorest of the poor getting poorer and the rich people getting richer.

Everything has to be balanced; even the use and maximization of the natural resources. Maybe we are too selfish to consume everything, leaving the next generation with nothing but leftovers and worse— after effects of our actions.

4 thoughts on “Sentiments on industrialization (Nostalgic Childhood)

  1. Keep up the good work on this blog!

  2. I never thought of it that way, well put!

Yeah I'm listening :)

